National Student Drama Festival . . .

The 2017 Festival will be from 8th to 14th April in Hull as part of the City of Culture celebrations

The National Student Festival has been an annual event in Scarborough around Easter for many years. The Spa Theatre and Ocean Room, the Stephen Joseph Theatre and University studio theatres host a 7-day marathan of productions with discussions and workshops. You'll be lucky to see anything like this outside of the Edinbugh Festival.

In 2012 the festival moved to Sheffield for one year to go international with a nine day celebration of young people's theatre. The 2013 festival returned to Scarborough.


   Christabel Holmes awarded the Clive Wolfe Bursary

Named Awards

   Buzz Goodbody Director Award Modupe Salu for 'I Can't Breathe'

   Stage Directors UK Award Joe Bunce for 'Departures'

   Cameron Mackintosh Award 'Departures'

   Sunday Times Playwriting Award Joe Bunce for the Lyrics and Book of 'Departures'

   Sunday Times Harold Hobson Student Drama Critic Award Kate Wyver

   Spotlight Most Promising Actress Modupe Salu for 'I Can't Breathe'

   Spotlight Most Promising Actor Broccan Tyzack-Carlin for Gomez in 'The Addams Family'

Outstanding Contribution to the Technical Team

   Ed Daniels

   Danielle Harris

   Nathan Cook

Management Award

   Oscar Owen

Judges' Awards

   Acting Sadie Fitch Kempner for Morticia in 'The Addams Family'

   Acting Becca Jones for Sylv in 'West'

   Choreography Will Emery for 'The Addams Family'

   Composition Matthew Malone for 'Departures'

   Contribution to the Festival Durham University Light Opera Group for 'Kiss Me Kate' and 'The Addams Family'

   Creative Collaboration The Company for 'Daniel'

   Design James Bailey for 'Departures'

   Directing and Casting Josie Davies for 'Over There'

   First Time Directing Jenny Walser for 'Cock'

Judges' Commendations

   Acting Shannon Smith for Mike in 'West'

   Acting Bryony Davies for Karl in 'Over There'

   Comedy Harvey Cornerford and Dominic McGovern for Gangsters in 'Kiss Me Kate'

   Composition Ronan Hatful for 'Over There'

   Directing Elin Schofield for 'Daniel'

   Supporting Actor Jennifer Bullock for Wednesday in 'The Addams Family'

   Supporting Actor James Roscow for Ken and Pat in 'West'

   Supporting Actor Harry Adair for Lurch in 'The Addams Family' and General Harrison in 'Kiss Me Kate'

Festgoers Award

   'The Addams Family'

Past participants in the NSDF, who have subsequently found fame, if not fortune, include :-

Simon Russell-Beale; Michael Billington; Brian Blessed; Janet Dibley;
Keith Drinkel; Adrian Edmondson; Ben Elton; Stephen Fry;
John Godber; Terry Hands; Stephen Jeffreys; Bryony Lavery;
Rik Mayall; Kay Mellor; John Nettles; Sian Phillips;
Tim Pigott-Smith; Pete Postlethwaite; Antony Sher; Sandi Toksvig;
Joanna van Gyseghem; Timothy West; James Wilby; Michael York;

amongst around 700 other professional actors, directors, writers and journalists. So come and see tomorrow's stars in lively yet "cool" Scarborough!

Click on to for further details of the NSDF